Knickers With A Twist: The Special Occasion

Round Two – ding ding!

webdsc_3157

I’ve chosen this rad spotty mesh for my special occasion knickers, but in all honesty – I ain’t saving them for a special occasion. In fact, I have plans for a matching bra and I’m going to wear them as often as I possibly can. I’m not one for saving things for special occasions, wear them and love them and feel special on a random Tuesday when all you’re doing is the school run and sitting at your desk drinking coffee.

Spotty mesh is from Pitt Trading.

Elastics from Booby Traps.

Organic black jersey from god knows where.

Pattern is self drafted from Beverly Johnson’s Craftsy class, as per the last two posts.

Look how rubbish I still am at stitching close to the picots:

webdsc_3158

So you’ll recall my last pair were fine besides those pesky popping stitches that I suspected was due to not enough elastic. Turns out I was correct! Hooray!  I added the elastic to these ones AFTER sewing all the side seams. I didn’t even measure, I just kept a bit of tension on the elastic all the way round, then overlapped the ends slightly and continued as usual. The fit is perfect and I love them. High waisted spotty meshy goodness. The mesh keeps them from looking too Bridget Jones, I think.

I used black organic jersey and did that lovely all enclosed gusset again. It’s as lovely as a gusset can be. GUSSET. Such a delightful word.

So that’s that, really. A bit of a cheater’s special occasion knick. Don’t forget about the rad Orinoco giveaway – enter enter enter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And also go have a look what Jess and Brooke are doing for their fancy knicks. Enter the giveaway on their blogs too.

webdsc_3154

3 thoughts on “Knickers With A Twist: The Special Occasion

  1. I’m loving following along on your lingerie sewing journey. I also took that Craftsy class and found that I needed more elastic along the leg openings too. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

