Skull x Floral Goodness {Vintage Simplicity 5445 Dress}

webDSC_6266

You might remember Simplicity 5445 from such sews as Banana Dress… and that’s about it really. I wasn’t sold on that version because I wasn’t feeling the love for the skirt. I think I’m just too used to really full skirts. Plus vintage patterns sort of exaggerate that tiny waist/big skirt ratio, don’t they? So what’s a girl to do? Change it, of course. Because that’s half the beauty of sewing.

webDSC_6264

Just before Christmas, those awesome ladies at Cotton and Steel messaged me to ask if I’d like some fabric. I know. I was shocked too. It was the best. They sent me around 3 yards of this floral quilting weight cotton. Now, florals aren’t usually my jam, but I do make exceptions. This one is an exception. The colours are awesome and I like the style of those cute little flowers. Plus it’s called ‘Tuesday Night Ladies Bowling League 1972’. Not even kidding. Best fabric name ever. The little skulls are from their Boo range and I already had them in my stash. I am a big C&S fan.

webDSC_6315

You didn’t think I’d make a dress without pockets, did you?

webDSC_6277

So. Changes. I cut out the bodice as normal and cut out my regular gathered skirt panels, which are basically big rectangles the width of the fabric. Mind blowing, I know. I added the pocket pieces to the skirt pieces, sewed up  one side seam and left the other open, then gathered as normal. I constructed the bodice as per the pattern instructions, but left the right side seam open. I then attached the bodice to the skirt and added an invisible zip in that right side seam. Now I can get in and out of it very easily.

webDSC_6313

The buttons are those self covered, clicky clacky metal ones. I’ve never used them before but they were super easy and I love them. I picked them up at an op shop.

webDSC_6284

Welcome to my wardrobe, new friend!

webDSC_6294

3 thoughts on “Skull x Floral Goodness {Vintage Simplicity 5445 Dress}

Leave a Reply

