That 50s Dress With The Collar {Vintage Anne Adams 2056)

webDSC_2382

Another irresistible choice from my rather large box (es) of gifted patterns. Oh how I love these old mail order patterns. Ordered from the newspaper and posted out to you in your size. I have 5 or 6 of these, all with a handwritten address on the front.

webDSC_2384

This one was a relatively quick sew, all over in a couple of hours. Like all old patterns, this one assumes you know how to sew so the instructions are vague at best. But it’s not a big deal, it’s quite an easy pattern (no collar stand!) and I changed the skirt to a basic gathered one which makes it even easier. I know from past experience that those narrower skirts aren’t my jam.

webDSC_2428

I added interfacing to the collar and facing pieces because that’s just what you do. The instructions didn’t mention it, but I’m not sure if that’s because sewists back then just knew too or it wasn’t a thing. When was interfacing even invented? Before that I’m sure collars etc had something in them (different fabric, maybe?).

webDSC_2572

Fabric is Birch Organic Maritime which was purchased locally from East Coast Fabrics.Β  This is it here if you’re keen for an online source. Funny it’s listed as very light weight because I feel like it’s a bit heavier than other quilting cottons I’ve used.

webDSC_2465

Was it a success? Well, not really. There are multiple fit issues and some weird drag lines. Part of it I was blaming on the fabric, but I have used quilting cottons for shirt dresses without a problem in the past, so I don’t know for sure.Β  The most obvious problem in the bust darts are suuuuper high. Also the bodice is a bit short so it’s sitting higher on my waist than usual. That’s a very strange problem for me as I’m quite short, so I generally have to shorten my bodices. The bodice has tucks too and I think maybe I’m just not used to the shape of them, I prefer darts. I do like the shape of that neckline and collar though. Plus mega angled pockets.

webDSC_2492

It feels simultaneously too big and too small in different places. So weird.Β  All in all, not the greatest but I’ve definitely made worse. I generally wear belts with most of my dresses, so that helps. I found a narrower one this morning which works better than the wide one in the images. If I don’t end up wearing it, I’ll save the skirt and add a waistband. If nothing else, Sid enjoyed his walk and the photos look pretty.

High five, buddy.

webDSC_2522

4 thoughts on “That 50s Dress With The Collar {Vintage Anne Adams 2056)

  1. Ooo! This pattern is all kinds of fabulous (that collar)! It doesn’t seem to show the bust darts in the illustration though. I think your dress looks great, and I love that fabric. The pattern definitely “has bones”, and a few tweeks would make it even more awesome on you! I may have to have a go a drafting something similar. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

