Slip, Slop, Slap…. Iced Vovo. {Megan Nielsen Rowan x Spoonflower}

SF-BLOG-HandmadeBlogHop-Header

Recently, the legends at Spoonflower got in contact and asked if I’d like to take part in a little blog hop they’re organising to show how makers around the world are celebrating the holiday season. They suggested that perhaps I’d like to make an Australian themed swimsuit or similar from their sport lycra (which is the tits and I’ve used many times). WOULD I? Of course! This time of year is alllllll about the water based activities for us. While half the world is freezing their butts off and singing about letting it snow, we are sweating and eating mangoes in the pool.

webDSC_6982

Now, if you are Australian you’ll totally get the references in the title. If you’re not, let me explain the Australian summer to you (at least in my neck of the woods, we’re a big country, it varies a lot), our sun will burn you in minutes. The whole ‘slip, slop, slap’ thing was a campaign launched by the Cancer Council in 1981 (the year I was born!) and refers to slipping on a shirt, slopping on some sunscreen and slapping on a hat. Apparently it’s one of the most successful health campaigns in Australian history. There you go. No wonder the jingle has been stuck in my head for 36 years.

webDSC_6987

And iced vovos are a pretty iconic biscuit made by Arnott’s (which is no longer an Australian company, but lets ignore that). I have very fond childhood memories of iced vovos with tea.

webDSC_6990

I was browsing through Australian designer’s stores on Spoonflower, looking for a print that would fit the brief, when I stumbled across Natalie’s amazing iced vovo design. YAS. This was it. I knew what it had to be – a rashie that I could easily create from Megan Nielsen’s (another Aussie, can you see how loyal I’m being here?) Rowan pattern.

webDSC_4363-2

So while Rowan isn’t technically a rashie pattern, I have made swimmers from it quite successfully before. This time was even more simple – I used the t shirt version of the pattern, added a seam allowance to the front pieces for the zip and cut it in two pieces instead of cutting it on the fold. Easy.

webDSC_6934

I sewed most of it up in about 15 minutes on my overlocker, finishing the centre front edges, hem and sleeves – which isn’t even necessary because the lycra won’t fray, it just looks nice.

webDSC_6935

While you can sew the band on folded, I decided not to. I wanted to encase the scratchy edges of the top of the zip in the neck band – even though when I checked my RTW rashie I found out it wasn’t done this way.

webDSC_6937

Just a warning, attaching the zip might make you cry a little bit. To make it less painful, you can add some fusible tape to the edge of the fabric, but if you find that’s not enough (like I did), heavier interfacing is better. Basting helps too but I found that it’s not enough on its own to stop the fabric stretching.

webDSC_6939

After that I just pinned the rest of the neck band in place and zig zagged it above the neckline seam. I finished the hem and and sleeve hems with a zig zag too, you need lots of stretch for this baby.

webDSC_6943

I managed to piece together my scraps to get a matching pair of bikini bottoms. I didn’t have enough fabric for my usual high waisted pair (pattern cloned from my favourite pair of RTW knickers), so they are lower than usual and I didn’t have enough for the top band either. Still, they aren’t bad and I do like making the most of my fabric scraps. Ooh and the bottoms are lined for obvious reasons. The rashie isn’t because I’ll always wear a bikini top under it for support. Or it will go over something else in a fantastic clash of prints.

webDSC_6996

Spying on my neighbours.

webDSCF3049

Submerged.

Yes there’s a dolphin in our pool, his name is Dave. He was there when we bought the house although we didn’t know it at the time because the whole thing was pond green.

webDSCF3068

If you ever need a reminder that you are not a graceful mermaid, just get some photos of yourself underwater. YOU’RE WELCOME.

webDSC_6988

If you made it this far through my incessant chatter, I have a reward for you – use the code katie17 to get 10% off your Spoonflower purchases until the 31st of December. Happy Dance!

SF-BLOG-HandmadeBlogHop-TagforBloggers

 

10 thoughts on “Slip, Slop, Slap…. Iced Vovo. {Megan Nielsen Rowan x Spoonflower}

  1. I love this and I love iced vovos and I love your pool dolphin. I also now have that song in my head and am having visions of that seagull (surely seagulls do not need to use sunscreen??). Also I looked it up because I remembered them trying to add ‘wrap’ (on some sunnies) to the jingle and it just sounding awful. Apparently now it’s ‘slip, slop, slap, seek (shade) slide (on sunnies)’. Sure.

    NOW I also have that ‘banananana: make those bodies sing’ song in my head because apparently this is how my brain works and all 80s jingles are just in a big jumble together. Stay tuned for more throughout the day!

    Anyway. An excellent swimsuit, is my take home message.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so great!! I love your Rashie! As a freckled redhead i need some coverage at the beach! I generally steer clear of spoonflower (hours and hours of looking through fabrics) but I may give this a go! I really do need a new rashie this season

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so awesome! I was just looking online this morning for a rashie onepiece because Summer-In-Autralia, so great to know this pattern is an option. The ice vovo print is SO much fun. I just love the combo – great pics too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment